Is CBD Halal?

Is CBD halal

Shop this article

View all
CBD Delta-9 Relax
CBD Delta-9 Relax
CBD Hybrid Relax
CBD Hybrid Relax
CBD Indica Sleep
CBD Indica Sleep
CBD Indica Sleep
CBD Indica Sleep
CBD Focus Sativa
CBD Focus Sativa
CBD Focus Sativa
CBD Focus Sativa
Table Of Contents

With the dizzying pace at which the world and science are currently advancing, it is normal that some doubts arise regarding the permissiveness of certain substances when it comes to religion. Such is the case of CBD, which shows to have a wide range of potential medicinal properties but, at the same time, is still a certain ​​controversial area for some people.

Halal is not about the food; it is also about Muslims' thoughts, doings, and love. If you have been considering using CBD, whether out of curiosity or to treat a certain condition, and want to have a clearer idea of ​​whether it is Halal or not, this post is the one for you.

​What is Halal?

Halal is a word of Arabic origin that encompasses a set of practices permitted by Sharia law followed by practitioners and adherents of Islam. The literal translation of the term halal is "permissible." However, the meaning and usage of this word can vary considerably between different Arabic-speaking communities and other Muslim communities that speak other languages.

In countries where the Muslim culture is prevalent, "halal" describes any practice permitted by Islamic law, having a somewhat broader use and meaning than the literal transliteration since it encompasses aspects such as manners, dress, diet, and language. But in countries where Arabic is not the primary language, the word halal refers to foods and consumable substances permitted by Islamic food laws, specifically meat and poultry permitted by Sharia.

Definition of Halal and Haram

​Both Halal and Haram are categories into which Islam divides things for Muslims. There is often a misconception that these two terms only refer to food. But, the truth is that they involve many more things, such as behavior, speech, and marriage, among other things.

However, it is still the permissible, non-permissible foods and food regulations accepted by Islamic laws, specifically the terms Halal and Haram mainly refer to. Here we will leave you the definition of each term so that you better understand the differences between them.


They are all foods, drinks, substances, behaviors, and clothing permitted or considered legal by Islam. Most halal guidelines refer primarily to foods of animal origin, and there are even guidelines on how you should prepare such foods.

This is because most plant-based foods like milk, honey, fruits, legumes, grains, and vegetables fall under the Halal category. The only plant-based foods that are Haram are those that contain intoxicating substances or ingredients.

Many animals are also within the Halal category, such as cows, deer, elk, goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, etc., as long as a Muslim sacrifices them. This is according to Muslim laws called Zabihah. Regarding sea animals, only fish falls into the Halal category.


According to Muslim traditions, the word Haram literally means sinful. It describes a category of behaviors, objects, policies, and actions, especially foods, drinks, and substances that Islam strictly prohibits and are displeasing to Allah. In short, everything that is Haram is considered a sin.

Makruh, translated as "disliked," is a somewhat softer alternative term used to describe the same thing, although Haram is the term commonly used in speaking. Pork is strictly Haram, so a Muslim cannot eat pork, sausage, ham, or bacon.

Gelatin is also Haram. Any animal not slaughtered by a Muslim, in the name of Allah, or following Islamic traditions and rites, falls under the Haram category. Carnivorous animals, blood, and all intoxicating objects and substances are also Haram.

Is CBD Oil Halal?

Perhaps lately, you have been curious about some cannabinoids or have been thinking of trying CBD microdosing to treat a condition, but you are not sure if it is halal or not. ​There may be mixed opinions regarding this question. But, to put it short, yes. CBD oil is halal.

Most Muslim scholars agree that CBD oil is Halal. CBD does not have any intoxicating or psychoactive effects and occurs naturally in the hemp plant. CBD oil is a natural extract resulting from an extraction process in which no other Haram ingredient is involved.

As long as the CBD oil you want to use is 100% THC-free, it is similar to other plant extracts such as lavender under Islamic law. To consume halal CBD oil, opt for broad-spectrum or isolates, as their extraction processes remove THC traces.

Is Smoking CBD Halal?

​There are many ways to consume CBD, but when you follow a Halal lifestyle, finding the right way to consume your CBD can become a big deal. When it comes to smoking CBD, the answer to the question “is it Halal?” can get even more tricky. Nonetheless, the most accurate answer to this question would be no.

Since ancient times, Muslim scholars have seemingly not reached a unanimous agreement on whether smoking tobacco is halal or haram. But given the overwhelming and firm evidence about the damage that tobacco smoking can cause to people's general health, tobacco smoking is definitely considered Haram.

Regarding CBD, it seems that even Muslim scholars do not express a universal, unanimous opinion yet. Although many Muslims consider the act of smoking in general to be more Haram than Halal, we could say that CBD is still in a gray area. For example, vaping CBD can be halal or haram, depending on the consideration of some people.

Although CBD is not Haram as such, vaping CBD can be as Haram as smoking since it involves inhaling the product or imitating the act of smoking. But in this case, it is more a matter of the consumption technique used than the CBD itself. The type of flower or CBD extract you want to consume and its components can also influence this conception. Whatever the case, make sure you always check what's exactly in your product, just like you would medicine or food.

Is CBD Drink Halal?

​When it comes to beverages, CBD as such falls under the category of Halal. Nonetheless, CBD is Halal when the extract is pure or diluted in a carrier oil such as coconut oil. However, Muslims should avoid tinctures, as most dilute CBD in alcohol, which is strictly prohibited according to Islamic prescriptions and is considered Haram.

There are other types of additives such as artificial colors that are also Haram because they can be harmful or contain alcohol in their composition or elements such as gelatin, which may contain pork fat as ingredients. Due to all this, it is vital to double-check all the components of your CBD drink to make sure that none of them are Haram.

Is CBD Halal Hanafi?

​Hanafi is one of the four schools of jurisprudence within the Sunni Islamic culture. Abu Hanifa Al-Nu'mān ibn Thābit was the founder of this line of thought, and the Hanafi school is believed to be the most open to modern ideas while following some of the strictest interpretations of Islam.

Many Hanafis, or followers of the Hanafi sect, agree that CBD is Halal since this natural compound in its pure state is not intoxicating but somewhat medicinal. Some even agree that some full and broad-spectrum CBD oils can still be Halal because the amounts of THC within these extracts are too minimal to intoxicate or get you high.

Is CBD Halal Shia?

​Shiism, like Sunnism, is one of the main branches of Islam and the 2nd line with the most followers in the world. Shia is the traditional name of the Ja'fari school of Islamic jurisprudence, which corresponds to 15% to 25% of the more than 1.9 billion followers of the Islamic faith.

Shiites have a similar opinion to Sunnis regarding CBD. Because CBD is a naturally occurring compound in hemp and is non-intoxicating, it also falls under the halal classification according to the Shia line of Islam.

As long as the CBD product you want to consume does not contain any other Haram ingredients such as traces of THC, gelatin, dyes, artificial additives, and no type of alcohol. Although there may still be mixed opinions regarding this, there seems to be no strong argument against CBD as such from the Shia authorities.

Are CBD Gummies Halal?

​When it comes to CBD-infused products, it can be even more misleading to define whether or not they are truly halal due to the variety of their ingredients. But speaking of CBD gummies, we can safely say that these are NOT halal.

One of the ingredients in CBD gummies is gelatin, which usually comes from animals and usually from a pig's fat or bones, which is strictly Haram. Even if the jelly comes from a cow, it may still contain artificial colors and flavors, also Haram.

With other CBD products, it is hard to be entirely clear if they are halal or haram. For example, some CBD capsules may also contain some gelatin, sweeteners, or colorants. Therefore, the ideal is always to read the product label well and see what its components are to verify if they are halal.

Where to Buy?

CBD has become really popular lately, and you can get it much easier than before. It may be enough to go to your nearest dispensary to get some CBD oil or some other halal form of this cannabinoid. Nevertheless, shopping online remains the easiest and most convenient way to get your CBD without leaving the comfort of your home.

There are many sites and online retailers that offer CBD products. But it is essential to highlight the fact that the FDA does not regulate many CBD products yet; therefore, it is difficult to know what they really contain. Fortunately for you, all CBD products and oils in our catalog go through rigorous third-party lab testing to verify all the components they contain.

The advantage of this is that you can make sure that the CBD product you want to buy does not contain any Haram ingredients or components. All you have to do is get into our online store, then make sure you choose the proper consumption method for your CBD remains Halal. For instance, our CBD gummies are halal. They are vegan, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, and contain no High Fructose Corn Syrup. Its THC content is less than 0.3%, a quantity that won’t generate any intoxicating effects.

Reading next

Hoth OG strain bud
Man vaping HHC